FANDOM


Rollback is a feature that allows trusted users to quickly undo problematic edits such as vandalism.

Anyone can revert vandalism and bad-faith edits, but it takes a couple of clicks in the page history to get it done. The rollback permission provides a button that will undo the last user's consecutive edits on a given page with a single mouse click.

Who Has Rollback? Edit

All content moderators and admins have rollback permission by default. FANDOM staff and VSTF also have this permission across all wikies. In addition, trusted users can be granted this permission.

The below list is of non-moderators/admins that have rollback rights on The 100 Wiki. This list was last updated August 17, 2018. See Special:ListUsers/rollback for a self-updating list.

Name Message Wall Status
Milks26‎ Wall Semi-Active

Using Rollback Edit

Basics Edit

An editor with rollback rights sees a rollback button next to relevant revisions in page histories, diff pages, user's contributions page, list of recent changes, and in certain other places. A single click on this button reverts the edit in question, as well as any other consecutive preceding edits made by the same user.

Details and Limitations Edit

  • The rollback button only appears next to the most recent revision of a page.
  • You cannot choose which revision will be restored. It is always the last revision not made by the author of the most recent revision. This revision may be problematic too, so be careful.
  • If there are multiple consecutive edits to the page by the same author, they will all be reverted. To remove only some of them, you must revert the changes manually.
  • Rollback happens immediately; there is no confirmation or preview (although a page is displayed allowing you to see the changes you have made).
  • Since rollback happens immediately, rollback edits have a generic edit summary:
    "(Reverted edits by X (talk) to last version by Y)".
  • Rollbacks are automatically marked as a "minor edit".
  • You cannot use rollback on a page which has only been edited by one person, as there would be nothing to revert to.

Appropriate Use Edit

Rollback is a fast way of undoing problematic edits, but it has the disadvantage that only a generic edit summary is generated, with no explanation of the reason for the change. For this reason, it is considered inappropriate to use it in situations where an explanatory edit summary would normally be expected.

Rollback may be used:

  • To revert obvious vandalism, spam, and other edits where the reason for reverting is absolutely clear
  • To revert edits that you have made (for example, edits that you accidentally made)
  • To revert edits in your own user pages
  • To revert edits by blocked users in defiance of their block (sockpuppets)
  • To revert widespread edits (by a misguided editor or malfunctioning bot) which are judged to be unhelpful to the wiki, provided that you supply an explanation in the relevant talk page

Misuse of Rollback Edit

Rollback should not be used for:

  • Situations where an explanatory edit summary would be expected
  • Good faith changes which you happen to disagree with
  • Disagreements between users acting in good faith
  • Editing disputes and edit wars (that aren't vandalism)

When in doubt, use another method of reversion and supply an edit summary to explain your reasoning.

Users who misuse rollback may have their rollback rights removed. Serious cases of misuse may result in the user being given a block.

Gaining & Losing Rollback Rights Edit

Requirements Edit

The 100 Wiki has a few requirements for those interested in gaining rollback rights:

  • At least 50 edits on this wiki, including reverting problematic edits.
  • Active contributor in the preceding 14 days.
  • Commitment to being active on the wiki for at least the next two months (even during hiatus periods).
  • Understanding what rollback should and should not be used for – read this page and pay special attention to "#Misuse of Rollback" section.
  • Admin approval – admin may deny granting rights based on user's prior actions and behavior.

Applying Edit

Anyone interested in gaining rollback rights should contact an admin with a short statement with why they are a good candidate. The admin should reply within seven days (if not, please ping them or ping another admin).

Unlike for other user rights (for which applications are only allowed during certain 'open' periods), applications for rollback are allowed year-round.

Losing Rights Edit

Users may lose rollback rights for various reasons, including:

  • Misusing rollback.
  • Being inactive on this wiki for 14 consecutive days within first two months of gaining rollback rights (breaking the two month commitment).
  • Being inactive on this wiki for 6 months.
  • Being inactive in reverting problematic edits for 9 months (even though active in other areas on the wiki).
  • Retiring / user requesting their rights removed.

Notes Edit

  • Users with rollback rights are not moderators or staff for this wiki. They are experienced users who have been trusted with an extra button to revert problematic edits for the benefit of the community.
  • Some users may view rollback rights as a stepping stone to getting moderator and/or admin rights (though having rollback rights is not a requirement to gaining those rights). Other users with rollback are uninterested in gaining higher rights (which come with greater responsibilities).
  • Users with rollback right were formerly known as Enforcers on this wiki.

References Edit

This page uses Creative Commons Licensed content from Wikipedia (view authors).
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.